Shocking Twists and Surprises: Inside India’s 2023 Asia Cup Squad – Who’s In, Who’s Out!

Sanju Samson’s name was conspicuously absent from India’s squad announcement for the upcoming 2023 Asia Cup on August 21. Instead, the wicketkeeper-batsman has been included as a reserve player, implying that while he will travel with the team to Sri Lanka, he won’t be considered for active selection unless KL Rahul faces an incapacitation.

Currently nursing a minor injury, KL Rahul is expected to sit out the initial match of the tournament. However, he is on track to recover in time for the second match against Nepal. Consequently, the squad welcomes back KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, and Jasprit Bumrah. These changes reflect a broader reshuffling in India’s Asia Cup squad. Here’s a comprehensive overview of the alterations:


Jasprit Bumrah’s return marks a significant development as he reenters the ODI team after a year-long absence. The right-arm pacer, having made his T20I comeback against Ireland, is set to contribute to the 50-over format. KL Rahul’s recovery from a thigh injury and Shreyas Iyer’s recuperation from a back issue see them reclaiming their positions in the lineup.

Mohammed Shami, who was rested during the West Indies series, makes a pivotal return for the Asia Cup, bolstering the team’s bowling arsenal. Mohammed Siraj, who was forced to return before the opening ODI against WI due to an ankle issue, has now regained fitness and his spot in the squad. Prasidh Krishna, who recently marked his return to T20I cricket against Ireland, has also overcome a back problem to secure his position. The inclusion of Tilak Varma, a newcomer, comes as a surprise as he edged out Yuzvendra Chahal for the spot.


With KL Rahul’s reinstatement, Sanju Samson finds himself omitted from the playing squad. However, he remains part of the team as a backup. Unfortunately, this scenario casts doubts on Samson’s chances of making it to the World Cup squad. The most striking omission is that of Yuzvendra Chahal, the seasoned leg-spinner, who was widely anticipated to be a fixture in the squad. Ruturaj Gaikwad, Jaydev Unadkat, Umran Malik, and Mukesh Kumar have also been dropped. Ruturaj Gaikwad will lead India in the Asian Games, while Mukesh Kumar’s position remains intact within the squad’s framework.

Leave a Comment